Game Center Integration for Molebears

Game-Center-icon

Tombstone512

It’s been awhile since I’ve updated about Molebears. I’m a little sad to say, the sales have definitely not gone well and the reception was also not what I had hoped for even though the game was free for a week. But, I’m not that sad. A little relieved actually. I have been so much running around, marketing, making last minute changes, and constantly thinking about the game before and during release that I was completely stressed. Now that it’s all over, I can say I tried my best and have no regrets.

This doesn’t mean I am resigned though, far from it. Mistakes were made. Game designs need tweaking. I plan to use Molebears as my “test” game. I want to integrate with as many things as possible with this game and test them out, so I can quickly implement them in my next game. One of the things I wanted to do but was afraid to was Leaderboard and Achievement integrations. I thought it was going to be too hard to do. Boy was I wrong.

Trophy512My original plan was to use Google Play Services because it was cross platform, but seeing how popular Game Center is on the iOS platform, I have decided to set up Game Center. The set up has been incredibly easy. Unity3d has built in functions for Game Center. I found an example implementation online and it was coded in a few hours. It’s taken me a week to create the achievements, but I’ve finally finished that today and will be coding the call to update achievements this weekend. By next week, iOS players will see Game Center in Molebears. I really hope people will start playing the game a bit more so the leader boards are not entirely empty.

It’s been a busy week. I joined IndieGraph and have started to take review request from developers as well as playing new games so I can give my impression on them. Between that and being the Lead for a multi-million dollar project at work, I don’t have much time. There’s so much I want to do still with Molebears, it’ll just take longer than I at first thought. This is a good thing, I don’t want to be as stressed as I was a few weeks ago. Here are some Achievements for Molebears Outbreak:

PerformancePicture512Achievements

  • Beat Maniac Difficulty
  • Defeat 1000 Army Molebears
  • Unlock all bombs
  • Get a perfect game 25 times
  • Play Survival Extreme mode
  • Play Custom mode with extreme spawn rate

Leaderboards

  • Total Score
  • Total Molebears Killed
  • Survival Extreme Score
Leave a Reply

